January 2004

MORE cycling= LESS accidents 

Wednesday, January 28, 2004

Contrary to what most people will tell you it has been proven that the more cyclists there are the less accidents that occur.

The British Medical Juournal recently carried this research project which investigated any possible links between the number of cyclists (and pedestrians) and the number of accidents.

http://ip.bmjjournals.com/cgi/content/full/9/3/205
or 
http://ip.bmjjournals.com/cgi/reprint/9/3/205.pdf 


Objective: To examine the relationship between the numbers of people walking or bicycling and the frequency of collisions between motorists and walkers or bicyclists. The common wisdom holds that the number of collisions varies directly with the amount of walking and bicycling. However, three published analyses of collision rates at specific intersections found a non-linear relationship, such that collisions rates declined with increases in the numbers of people walking or bicycling.

Conclusion: A motorist is less likely to collide with a person walking and bicycling if more people walk or bicycle. Policies that increase the numbers of people walking and bicycling appear to be an effective route to improving the safety of people walking and bicycling.

Friday 5th May, 19:30 PM
WoW Social May 2017
Tuesday 18th July, 18:00 PM - 20:00 PM
Wolverhampton Cycle Forum July 2017
Wednesday 26th April - All Day
Stafford Rd Gateway Phase 1

Wednesday 26th April - All Day
Stafford Rd Gateway Phase 1
Saturday 29th April, 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wolverhampton Bike Shed
Friday 5th May, 19:30 PM
WoW Social May 2017
Saturday 13th May, 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wolverhampton Bike Shed
Sunday 21st May - All Day
Round the Wrekin Sportive
Saturday 27th May, 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wolverhampton Bike Shed
Wednesday 7th June, 19:30 PM
WoW Social June 2017
Saturday 10th June, 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wolverhampton Bike Shed
Saturday 24th June, 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wolverhampton Bike Shed
Wednesday 5th July, 18:30 PM - 20:00 PM
WoW Campaign Meeting July 2017
wow logo